About Science


about science forward

Science Forward is an open educational resource to help you make the most of your Science Forward class. It’s also a model for how anyone could teach core science principles anywhere in the world.


Regina Alvarez, Queensborough CC, CUNY

Niroshana Anandasabapathy, Weill Cornell

Sanjoy Banerjee, CUNY Energy Institute

Jill Bargonetti, Hunter College, CUNY

Alan Benimoff, CSI, CUNY

Chanda Bennett, WCS New York Aquarium

Christopher Blaszczak-Boxe, Medgar Evers College, CUNY

Karin Block, CCNY, CUNY

Brett Branco, Brooklyn College, CUNY

Laura Broughton, Bronx CC, CUNY

(Merry) Yue Cai, Columbia University

Lissette Delgado-Cruzata, John Jay College, CUNY

John J. Denney, Queens College, CUNY

Brahmadeo Dewprashad, BMCC, CUNY

Susan Epstein, Hunter College, CUNY

Allan Frei, Hunter College, CUNY

Justin Garson, Hunter College, CUNY

Juliette Gorson, Hunter College, CUNY

Elodie Ghedin, NYU

Shannon Swiley Greco, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

David Gruber, Baruch College, CUNY

Mandë Holford, Hunter College, CUNY

Laura Juszczak, Brooklyn College, CUNY

Athanasios Koutavas, CSI, CUNY

William L’Amoreaux, CSI, CUNY

Tammy Lewis, Brooklyn College, CUNY

Charles Liu, CSI, CUNY

Sean McKenzie, The Rockefeller University

Ted R. Nabavi, NYC Dept. of Sanitation

Marion Nestle, NYU

Mary Pearl, Macaulay Honors College, CUNY

Massimo Pigliucci, CCNY, CUNY

Elizabeth Reis, Macaulay Honors College, CUNY

Diana Reiss, Hunter College, CUNY

Emily Rice, CSI, CUNY

Irving Robbins, CSI, CUNY

Andrew Rosenberg, Queens College, CUNY

Bernice Rosenzweig, CUNY ASRC

Cynthia Rosenzweig, NASA GISS

Caleb Scharf, Columbia University

Sarah Schlesinger, The Rockefeller University

Judith Spitz, Verizon

Bon Sy, Queens College, CUNY

Susan Tamang, Stanford University, CUNY alumna and former ITF

Derek Tan, Memorial Sloan Kettering

Ofer Tchernichovski, Hunter College, CUNY

Manuela Veloso, Carnegie Mellon University

Mark Weckel, AMNH and CUNY alumnus

Eleanore Wurtzel, Lehman College, CUNY

Andrew Zwicker, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Season 1 Videos:

Artificial Intelligence

Climate Change


The Challenge of Food

The Science Senses

Urban Ecology

What is Science?

Season 2 Videos:

Animal Communication


Drug Discovery & Development


Scientific Uncertainty

Tools of Seeing


Season 3 Videos:



Science & Ethics

Executive Producers:

Lisa Brundage

Kelly O’Donnell

Joseph Ugoretz


John O’Neil


Lisa Brundage

Kelly O’Donnell

Joseph Ugoretz

Director of Photography:

Jesús Nieves


Shumita Basu

Emily Rice

Science Consultant:

Kelly O’Donnell

Project Manager:

Lisa Brundage


Jesús Nieves


Juan Nieves

Production Assistants:

Alex Sauerbrunn

Music Credits:

“Prod Music” by Daniel Cowen

Larry Bernard, Jeanne Jackson DeVoe, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

Cait Field, Freshkills Park

Vito Turso, Jose Atkinson, NYC Department of Sanitation

The CUNY Energy Institute

Diane Weathers, Niclie Crews, Ramon Barksdale, Bronx Community College

Rae Paoletta

Franklin Hoke, Jennifer Einstein, The Rockefeller University

Yong Liu, Belfer Research Building

Azinia Brooks, John Jay College

College of Staten Island

Season 1 & 2:

CUNY Advance, Chancellor J. B. Milliken, Executive Vice Chancellor Allan Dobrin, Vice Chancellor for Budget and Finance Matthew Sapienza

Season 3:

The CUNY OER Initiative, Governor Andrew Cuomo

Macaulay Honors College logo
City University of New York logo