Introduction to Staten Island

Staten Island is officially known as Richmond County, in the State of New York in the United States of America. It is one of five boroughs of New York City, which also includes Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, and the Bronx. It covers a land area of 58.5mi2. Staten Island has 10 high schools. The current borough president is James P. Molinaro. It is the location for the St. George Ferry terminal, Snug Harbor Cultural Center & Botanical Garden, and the Staten Island Zoo. It is also the location of many museums, including the Staten Island Museum, the Alice Austen House, Historic Richmond Town, and the Jacques Marchais Museum of Tibetan Art. Some activities you could do in Staten Island include playing the back nine at one of its three golf courses, fishing at either the Ocean Breeze Fishing Pier or at Lemon Creek Park, and bird watching. There are also many parks in Staten Island, including the Greenbelt, Bloomingdale Park, Clove Lakes Park, and Wolfe’s Pond Park.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *